Blackfish (2013)

Kaitlyn Tiffany
1 min readApr 18, 2021

--

As a teen who was active on the animal rights/veg tumblr forums in the early 2010s, this film sort of brings me back to my thoughts surrounding this issue at the time this film came out. I listened to bands like Rise Against (who promoted animal rights documentaries like Cowspiracy, Food Inc, etc.) and was early in my riot grrrl research. This film, while well made and filled with important information regarding animal abuse in entertainment, its not my favorite film i’ve seen on this topic. The sea-park angle is definitely important in why I don’t think about it as much as documentaries that focus on the agricultural industry, mainly because the abuse is so drastic in difference, not that one is more valuable than another, but the sheer amount of animals that suffer abuse in the production of meat is something that is also worth looking into (not a documentary, but Okja (2017) had a pretty interesting take on the issue at hand). I personally liked the parts of the film that focused on humans and animals and their connection/overall role in nature and I think there should be more films that incorporate that element. My stances on sustainability, “cruelty-free” products, and the ethics of vegan food have shifted over time, but this documentary was definitely crucial in my adolescent understanding of animal rights and the fight that still needs to be done for our planet overall.

--

--